Reviews

Read Reviews (16)
(
4.50/5
) based on
16
reviews.

by Trish on Jun 25 2015 08:46

Lovely room finally following mix up and aircon problem. Spacious and modern with friendly helpful staff. Fab breakfast and loads of space to relax and meet friends.
 
 
 
 
 

by Sinead on Jun 23 2015 22:21

The staff were more than helpful, rooms were very comfortable
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer56602255 on Jun 18 2015 09:40

My husband and I stayed on an overnight at this hotel recently. Our stay was quite by accident as I had a business meeting in Athlone the following day and all hotels in Athlone itself seemed to be booked out, so we chose the Shearwater as it is only 20 minutes down the motorway from Athlone. We arrived late in the evening and were checked in promptly and warmly by the receptionist. There is underground parking at this hotel and you can take an elevator straight up to your floor from it. Despite the booking only being made late that afternoon, my request for a quiet room was met as was a request for a fridge in our room, due my husband's lactose intolerance which means that he has to travel with specialist milk products etc. The room was spacious and very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. The following morning I took an early morning swim in the leisure centre and found it to be well maintained and spotlessly clean. The pool is a great size and there is a separate children's pool and Jacuzzi along with sauna and steam room. The breakfast choice was good and the staff were friendly and obliging. The hotel itself is a little dated in décor and in need of some touching up here and there, but for the price we paid - €74.00 bed and breakfast for 2, we thought there was a great standard of hospitality offered and great value. As I said, our stay here was purely accidental, but I would have to say, that being a regular visitor to Athlone, I would be inclined to return here for the great value, as it is just a quick trip down the motorway to Athlone itself. Well done to the Management and staff!
 
 
 
 
 

by carmel on Jun 15 2015 16:57

Had a very enjoyable stay a this hotel. Bed very comfortable. Spacious room. Tea and coffee making facilities. Enjoyed using the swimming pool, sauna and steam room. Lovely breakfasts. Would recommend to friends and family. Only 4 stars as room seemed to get very hot at night and air conditioning to loud to leave on while getting to sleep. Overall a great place to stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by Claire Nolan on Jun 10 2015 14:31

Stayed in the hotel on Sunday night and went to see Mike Denver had a great time the staff in the hotel are very friendly the room was perfectly clean and ready when i checked in would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family the food was excellent
 
 
 
 
 

by Michael o Sullivan on Jun 3 2015 21:40

We have stayed at this hotel on many occasions but found our most recent stay one of the best ! We had booked a family room for one night and got a fabulous room (248 ) .The staff and customer service were excellent and there was a great atmosphere and buzz about the place !! I must give a great mention to some of the bar staff that have been there the last couple of years and will always remember you and give you a great welcome .Hope to return in the foreseeable future !! Congratulations to the management and staff for a great stay . Michael
 
 
 
 
 

by Seana on May 28 2015 21:03

Very nice hotel and staff were absolutely fantastic, friendly and extremely helpful. We had stayed on a couple spa overnight stay. Room fantastic. Spa fabulous but in package there was supposed to be a foot ritual that we didn't receive. Otherwise our couples massage and relaxation area was lovely. We then had our meal in bar which was also very nice only complaint half the food on the menu was unavailable leaving choice very limited. Despite this a lovely hotel with very attentive friendly staff.
 
 
 
 
 

by Paul on May 5 2015 20:45

Nice hotel with very good facilities. Dinning was good at the bar or in the lounge. Would recommend this hotel
 
 
 
 
 

by Phil on Apr 29 2015 19:43

This is a lovely hotel, very new, clean and welcoming. The staff and food were also excellent. The main draw back is the lack of free wifi which in this day and age seems questionable.
 
 
 
 
 

by Gerry on Apr 28 2015 13:09

Great hotel to stay in if you have an early flight out of Dublin. Parking is easy in underground garage, major highways are close, the rooms are modern, spacious and comfortable. There are ample facilities for food and drink, but if you prefer, the town center is within walking distance with a variety of shops, pubs and eaterys.
 
 
 
 
 

by Eddie on Apr 24 2015 19:14

We had a very nice stay at your hotel. Our room was lovely and spacious and very quiet too. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. We had lunch at your carvery which was a nice meal and the staff were great. Very attentive to our party. We had dinner in your bar which was very busy. We ordered drinks and meals. The drinks came after 15minutes except for my pint of smithwicks. When I asked where it was I was told the barrel needed changing. Another 15 minutes went by and the food arrived but I was gasping for a drink so I went up to the bar to ask for my pint but the barrel still hadn't been changed so I changed my order and soon got a nice pint of guinness but no apology for the delay. I can fully understand the delay as they were so busy with wedding guests but an apology would have been nice. The food was really nice in the bar and the entertainment was good too. The next morning we used the pool area facilites and it was all very good. Breakfast was really good too. Many Thanks Mr Edmond Sweeney
 
 
 
 
 

by Aoife Mullaney on Apr 22 2015 11:45

Have been recommending the Hotel ever since ! Staff were so friendly and breakfast delicious with staff very helpful at the tables. Attended a wedding which was very well presented and the food was the best wedding food I have ever had. A lovely venue with so much space and very tastefully decorated room with a GIANT bed. Would recommend it to anyone Thankyou.
 
 
 
 
 

by Tomas Quinlan on Apr 9 2015 16:47

Stayed on Easter Sunday last,Great room,great nights enternaiment with Mike Denver and to cap it off what a breakfast.Will stay again soon
 
 
 
 
 

by kieragh on Apr 8 2015 10:37

Great family room, good food and great kids club. All at a reasonable price, we will be back.
 
 
 
 
 

by tee on Apr 8 2015 06:46

A little expensive, beautiful hotel with friendly staff,
 
 
 
 
 

by Paul on Apr 4 2015 16:54

Very enjoyable stay the highlight excellent food