Reviews

Read Reviews (132)
(
4.52/5
) based on
132
reviews.

by Johanna O'Grady on Oct 5 2017 09:31

Really enjoyed our stay at your Hotel ,Staff are very nice and lovely manners. We will definitely be staying next year again
 
 
 
 
 

by Paula on Oct 3 2017 20:25

Three generations had a fantastic stay at the Shearwater last Friday night 30th September. From Reservations (the wonderful Stella) to all the staff, no exception!! Even Lorraine next morning who greeted us as we arrived for glorious breakfast. The only problem I had was the lack of Coeliac food on menu at the Bar. The manager kindly replaced my bun less burger which looked very sorry for itself with a tasty Chicken Caesar Salad without croutons but I wanted something hot. I was very disappointed and went to bed hungry.
 
 
 
 
 

by BB! on Sep 30 2017 17:49

As always, a lovely stay. Very relaxing, good food - what more do you want!
 
 
 
 
 

by James on Sep 25 2017 18:20

Her stayed for a wedding. The only problem I hadn't was the checking in as it took longer than any check in I've had to do before. This might have been tothe fact that bedrooms weren't ready at that stage for people. This was what we were told. Apart from that the food for the wedding was excellent as was the breakfast the next morning. The room itself (106) had everything we required and we were happy with it. As I said the check in was my only complaint everything else was great
 
 
 
 
 

by Hazel Holmlund on Sep 22 2017 20:00

I really enjoyed my stay at the Shearwater. I was there for the Soroptimist International Friendship Weekend and the hotel was very spacious and welcoming. The conference suite was excellent with plenty of space to meet and greet and socialise. It didn't feel like conference accommodation at all because there were always staff on hand to check that everything was as it should be and to answer questions. The Friday evening buffet and Saturday Gala Dinner were top class. My room looked over the waste ground at the back which meant that it was very quiet even though the immediate view wasn't wonderful. The standard of cleanliness is very high throughout and I feel that compliments are in order for your forward thinking decision to recruit local young men for cleaning duties. They are getting good training and doing a grand job! I am all for equality.
 
 
 
 
 

by Dan on Sep 22 2017 13:53

What can I say besides, what a beautiful hotel. Had a great stay, staff couldn't been nicer and the room and leisure center gorgeous. The breakfast was to die for also.Looking forward to returning!!
 
 
 
 
 

by Naomi Leonard on Sep 19 2017 07:25

Great hotel rooms very nice bed also very comfortable. All the staff where very helpful and friendly. Looking forward to next years stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by Me on Sep 11 2017 19:56

The food was fabulous. The staff were more than helpful. The setting super. We had a fabulous weekend at Martin and Phillips wedding.
 
 
 
 
 

by EO on Sep 8 2017 09:50

Very pleasant stay, good food, friendly staff. Great pool area, comfortable beds, the rooms were spacious and clean. This was the best hotel on our trip through Ireland!
 
 
 
 
 

by Mary T on Sep 7 2017 07:25

Smart modern hotel with top facilities. Food and service very good. Staff were always willing to help and could not do enough for you. Good central location. Thank you - really enjoyed my stay. See you again. Mary
 
 
 
 
 

by carmel aspell on Sep 5 2017 23:22

My first visit to the Shearwater Hotel was a wonderful night .A lovely hotel @ the staff were very helpful .Beautiful room with everything I wanted .Will be back hopefully for another visit as soon as I can .Carmel Aspell
 
 
 
 
 

by joseph bradley on Sep 5 2017 23:10

Had a very comfortable stay in the Shearwater and enjoyed the good food. Joe Bradley.
 
 
 
 
 

by Ciara on Aug 27 2017 10:23

Friendly staff, spotless and spacious room & the food is great. Staff really listen and do what they can to make your stay enjoyable.
 
 
 
 
 

by Rachel k on Aug 25 2017 17:51

Spent 3 nights mid-week at shearwater in family suite. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Underground car park was great as weather was terrible. Breakfast was great - good selection, well presented. Very friendly and helpful staff throughout hotel. Nice bar with good bar food. Will definitely return at a later date.
 
 
 
 
 

by Cora on Aug 22 2017 19:16

My husband and I stayed at the shearwater for one night dinner bed and breakfast last Sunday . The girl at reception had a fab manner and great bubbly personality . made really welcome .we got to hotel a fair bit before check in time but there was no problem what so ever there was a room ready and she checked us in .Room v clean. Food at bar lovely and manager cleared our table very promptly and ad a great way about him very friendly . Breakfast was lovely . checkout great . fab stay would come again .
 
 
 
 
 

by Jen on Aug 19 2017 19:14

Lovely Hotel. spotlessly clean throughout. All staff extremely friendly and welcoming. Room was perfect except way too hot and air conditioning kept flashing as error.One of the towels were stained and had a snot (
 
 
 
 
 

by Sarah on Aug 15 2017 18:49

I have stayed here for three nights I have travelled in many four and five star hotels , But the service this gives comparison to none ,the staff would do anything to help you they go way beyond there duty one of the cleanest places you could get I would also say how huge the rooms are I would recommend to anyone .
 
 
 
 
 

by Martin on Aug 8 2017 20:43

Our stay was very enjoyable. Great facilities and lovely staff.
 
 
 
 
 

by Elaine on Aug 3 2017 16:07

Recent stay in Sherwater proved extremely pleasant. Lovely warm staff each one encountered but especially the young gentleman who served the bar food - his mammy should be very proud(unfortunately I didn't get his name
 
 
 
 
 

by Gen on Aug 3 2017 00:03

Absolutely TOP CLASS stay ! Couldnt fault the hotel, the food, the ambiance, the staff, the cleaners .... nobody or nothing, it was just perfect..........we'll be back in a flash once the price is right :-) Well done ye guys and long may it continue x
 
 
 
 
 

by stephen keogh on Aug 1 2017 22:33

When we arrived in Ballinasloe the summer rain was just pouring down. My wife said: my hair will be destroyed, so you can imagine her delight to discover an underground secure car park, it pleased me too. We presented ourselves at reception where a lovely young lady checked us in most efficiently and explained the multitude of facilities available to us. Our room was conveniently located on the first floor and was of generous proportions, well equipped, warm and clinically clean. Cases deposited safely in room, car keys in safe, we headed for the bar for tea and freshly made sandwiches and costing a mere 15 euro we were set up for the afternoon. We attended a country function in the ballroom later in the evening after having the most wonderful meal in the bar which we washed down with pints of lager that went down like mother's milk. All of the staff here are friendly, helpful and give attention to detail which puts the hotel ahead of the competition. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay and already have been on the hotel web site to see if we can return and savor the delights soon again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Kathy on Aug 1 2017 07:42

Loved our stay here - great find of a hotel. Stayed Thursday to Saturday night. Hotel was excellent, staff were all amazing, breakfast had massive choice. Will defo be back
 
 
 
 
 

by sheila on Jul 31 2017 11:59

The hotel lovely food was exceptional and the staff were friendly and helpful will definitely return
 
 
 
 
 

by Pat Heavey on Jul 31 2017 09:07

Had a very enjoyable stay staff were friendly room and food were perfect entertainment was very good I would have no problem recommending it to family or friends
 
 
 
 
 

by Helen on Jul 31 2017 02:14

It was a pleasure to stay in the Shearwater Hotel. On arrival we found the staff to be friendly and efficient. There was no stone left unturned in providing us wit lovely accommodation to suit our needs with two teenagers. Breakfast was hot and delicious and the staff were constantly keeping an eye on making sure there was plenty of everything, even though the breakfast finished at 10, people were still getting a lovely breakfast at 10.30. The Hotel itself is spotless with a grandeur feeling of luxury, there is a big swimming pool and leisure centre, plus underground car park, with lifts straight down from rooms. Congratulations Shearwater, take a bow
 
 
 
 
 

by Niamh Mc Donnell on Jul 30 2017 17:20

The best hotel I've stayed in, in ireland. There is nothing I would change, a minor complaint. I visited with friends in wheelchairs and at one point someone was using the bathroom with no visible disability whatsoever and therefore my friends had to wait for the one toilet available and one had to go to the room. It takes enough time to use the facilities from a wheelchair without an able bodied person using the only toilet downstairs available for them.
 
 
 
 
 

by SD on Jul 30 2017 16:28

Lovely hotel, room was very spacious and family friendly. Great for children. All staff were kind and friendly. Would deffinately recommend a visit
 
 
 
 
 

by richie on Jul 29 2017 18:04

Dear Fergal I was as always pleasantly surprised at the service, facilities and quality of the room at Shearwater. Where, as a poor Hotel sleeper, I always sleep well, in fine beds within a lovely, quiet air conditioned environment. This time I had an important day in the Supreme Court of Appeal following as a Chartered Surveyor, I was late arriving and needed a good night. On 6hrs I managed it and the following day went well, with clients happy. I think I was lucky too, getting 250, an executive room with Jacuzzi ! dual basins and loads of space for 69 euros, best deal ever, usual rooms are always fabulous anyway. Must arrange a business account as you are a great stopover halfway to Dublin on business, will arrive earlier to use Jacuzzi next time, maybe bring Phyllis too, she loves luxury lol ! Kind Regards and Thanks to all including nice night Receptionist and colleague who gave me a paper-punch for last minute filing ! Richie Carroll Bsc ARICS Building Surveying and design.
 
 
 
 
 

by Carmel on Jul 29 2017 17:56

Lovely comfortable hotel. Staff very friendly. Whfi wouldn't work great 4 us. Hot food breakfast wasn't very warm.
 
 
 
 
 

by Mary.MC Namara on Jul 25 2017 18:37

Hi everyone at Shearwater, we had a very enjoyable stay Sunday, beautiful hotel and fantastic staff,special thanks to restaurant manager Sue,a lovely lady,looking forward to our next visit.Thanks to all involved in making this hotel so fantastic. Mary MC NAMARA,Shannon
 
 
 
 
 

by John Osman on Jul 24 2017 23:12

Well appointed rooms, good food, good facilities and easy parking.
 
 
 
 
 

by Liam on Jul 24 2017 23:09

Pleasantly surprised at high quality, enjoyed our stay,
 
 
 
 
 

by Pauline on Jul 24 2017 18:57

We stayed in the hotel last weekend and really enjoyed it. The hotel very pleasant and relaxing. Nice bar area and food good too. Would go back.
 
 
 
 
 

by Helen Mc Sorley on Jul 23 2017 19:00

We had a lovely time. Staff very friendly and great value.
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer33421433 on Jul 23 2017 15:30

It was nice reception and friendly staff in the hotel , Food was nice as well as the breakfast The room was uncomfortable cause the air condition was not working it was too warm couldn't sleep well at night . Other than that the hotel was nice .
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer71986742 on Jul 19 2017 13:29

As regular visitors we found the service excellent as usual , however the intermittent wifi in the bedrooms and the broken air conditioning in the bedroom ment we checked out and checked into a hotel in Athlone for our second night
 
 
 
 
 

by Elizabeth on Jul 18 2017 23:31

celebrated my sister's surprize birthday dinner at the Shearwater and the staff could not have looked after us better, Everything was perfect, the food, the rooms, the staff everything. Look forward to returning there in the future. ///thank you all.
 
 
 
 
 

by jonathan on Jul 18 2017 22:28

Excellent Hotel, stayed for two nights B&B and dinner. Rooms were lovely and clean. Food was brilliant. Staff were very well mannered and friendly. Also used the pool facilities - excellent.
 
 
 
 
 

by Lyn on Jul 16 2017 18:17

Brilliant hotel great services and really kid friendly.. the kids loves the kids club. Staff very friendly and the food was amazing. This was my second visit and will be back again
 
 
 
 
 

by Margo Rooney on Jul 16 2017 14:09

I have to say our family stay at the shearwater was lovely pleasent helpful staff also clean and kept tidy. Food was great couldn't fault it at all and the staff were so helpful to me as it was my sisters birthday they placed balloons and banners for me into her room as a suprise. Thanks for a lovely stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by James Harvey on Jul 15 2017 10:41

We recently spent three days at the Hotel and I have nothing but good things to say about it. It's located in a good area half way between Athlone and Athenry. The rooms were very nice and the staff wonderful. We do a lot of traveling and I must say the Breakfast here was the BEST we've ever had. We came down a little before the breakfast buffet ended and the food, which was a Hugh selection was still steaming hot !!! I complemented the staff and they said I was the first person to complement them, they usually get complaints well to be honest I don't know what was wrong with those people , because there nothing at all to complain about. I would definitely come back to the Shearwater Hotel and also recommend it to any one staying in that area.
 
 
 
 
 

by Giles O'Hara on Jul 13 2017 23:56

Hotel and staff were fantastic! Me and my wife arrived with our two year old daughter and we immediately felt so welcome by the lovely staff at reception. The remainder of our stay was no different right down to your very friendly and accommodating house keeping and restaurant staff who always had a smile and interest in our daughter which was so lovely. I would've given the hotel 5 stars but unfortunately the air conditioning wasn't working in our room so it was very warm and a bit uncomfortable at night. All in all we very much enjoyed our stay and will definitely consider returning.
 
 
 
 
 

by Andrew on Jul 11 2017 23:00

Nice hotel nice staff great location. Could have done with a bit of music in the bar Apart from that highly recommended.
 
 
 
 
 

by Kate Lawlor on Jul 11 2017 18:27

We had a lovely stay. The kids loved the pool & jacuzzi. It was my daughter's 14th birthday & the dinner & desert after our swim was very enjoyable.
 
 
 
 
 

by GERARD REDDIN on Jul 10 2017 22:18

Dear Fergal, thank you for the opportunity to review our stay at the hotel. We had a lovely time for the few hours we got to actually stay. The bedroom with balcony was vert comfortable and equipped with all we required. We had food and drinks in the bar and really enjoyed a great hurling match on the many TV screens . The service and attention from all the staff was excellent and it was great to see so many local people employed by the Hotel. Unfortunately our youngest child became ill shortly after our arrival and eventually we decided that we had no option but to check out at 23.30 and return home.The Duty Manager was very sympathetic and he kindly agreed to deduct the cost of breakfast from our room rate , he said that he would sort it the following morning. Looking at my Credit Card transactions, it seems that the full amount has been applied.I would be very grateful if you could review this for us. Even though the hotel is only half hour from home we will definately return again ,hopefully for a full night the next time. Kind Regards Gerard Reddin.
 
 
 
 
 

by Sarah on Jul 10 2017 17:11

Me and my boyfriend stayed on one of your packages, it was absolutely brilliant value. We had a meal in the restaurant which was fab and the staff very attentive our room was lovely and we had a spa treatment in the mornin which was also fab the only bad thing I could say is that I'm sorry I didn't stay two nights. We loved it so thank you guys
 
 
 
 
 

by Kirsty on Jul 9 2017 18:43

Hi my hotel room was fab could not fault it one bit. We had dinner in the lounge that was fab too. After dinner we went for a swim. Swimming pool was fine but as I walked into the women's bathroom the smell of urine hit me straight away. And the showers smell like sewerage! We had a few beverages that night in the lounge and it was fine but we were turned off of our breakfast the next morning as the bread was mouldy. So we waisted money on breakfast because we never ate it. I would stay here again but leisure centre needs to be cleaned and breakfast needs to be improved.
 
 
 
 
 

by Gamal Salem on Jun 30 2017 01:24

Nice hotel
 
 
 
 
 

by Irishduffy on Jun 28 2017 19:23

We really enjoyed our stay at The Shearwater Hotel. Our room was lovely and the bar food was delicious. The staff in the bar on the night of 26th June were helpful and friendly and Connie in reception deserves a mention too. Thanks to all the staff we will be back to stay again! Thanks Avril & Neil
 
 
 
 
 

by Anne on Jun 25 2017 11:54

Once more a very pleasant experience staying in the Shearwater Hotel Ballinasloe. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are excellent with very well fitted out bathrooms. Great breakfasts and good food all round. Will be back again.